Work-Based Learning

Work-Based Learning and Perkins V--Presentation from the Arkansas Chamber of Commerce meeting December 12, 2019.

Work Based Learning Power Point Presentation for Teachers

The Division of Career and Technical Education offers the following types of work-based learning opportunities. Employers interested in participating in any of these programs may view the Employer Manual here.

For information regarding operations manuals, standards or equipment lists, see the Career Readiness/Work-Based Learning section of the Occupational Areas Page.


Internship is experiential learning that can be paid or unpaid which integrates knowledge and theory learning in the classroom with practical application and skills development in a professional setting. Students in grades 10 - 12 are eligible to enroll in this course. It will not count toward concentrator status.

Instructor Manual

Internship Accountability Report

Internship Placement Report

Selected On-site and Off-site Placement Minimum Duties

Youth Apprenticeship

Youth Apprenticeship must be a paid work experience designed to assist students in grades 11 - 12 in their specific CTE career pathway. A student must be at least 16 years of age. The student must currently be enrolled or have completed at least two courses in a chosen CTE career pathway area to be eligible for this course.

This course is eligible for an employer tax credit.

Instructor Manual

Youth Apprenticeship Accountability Report

Youth Apprenticeship Placement Report

Career Practicum

Career Practicum Instructor Manual

Use the Accountability and Placement reports that are listed under the Youth Apprenticeship Section. 


Pre-Apprenticeship is designed to prepare students for entry into a Department of Labor registered apprenticeship program. It must be a paid Pre-Apprenticeship. A student must be at least 16 years of age. Completers of this program may be given special consideration for entry into an apprenticeship program and/or applied time served or credits earned toward fulfilling program requirements.

This course is eligible for an employer tax credit.

Instructor Manual

Pre-Apprenticeship Accountability Report

Pre-Apprenticeship Placement Report

Related Legislation

The “Arkansas Youth Apprenticeship/Work-Based Learning Act of 1991” ( A.C.A. 6 50-501 to 6-50-505) establishes the state’s youth apprenticeship program. The program begins in the 11th grade and lasts three to four years. It ends with the attainment of a postsecondary associate degree, certificate and/or completion of a traditional apprenticeship. Programs must be approved by the State Apprenticeship Coordination Steering Committee.

Two Arkansas laws, A.C.A. 26-51-1601 to 26-51-1606 (2008) and A.C.A. 6-50-501 to 6-50-505 (1991) provide tax incentives for employers hiring a youth apprentice in a program registered with the U.S. Department of Labor and/or in a program approved by the Arkansas Department of Career Education. Eligible employers can receive an income credit of $2,000 or 10 percent of the wages earned by the youth apprentice.